(Website meant to be displayed on mobile phones. Text will appear large on desktops.)

-------------------------------
Wednesday, March 23rd, 2022
-------------------------------
I kept my retirement home schedule this year of 2022, going to homes such as Vista del Monte, Valle Verde, Villa Riviera, and Mariposa, and it has been a lot of fun. Most recently I played at Valle Verde for their St. Patrick's Day party and I was excited to play from a book of Irish and Celtic songs one of my students' let me borrow. I also played my usual repertoire, but I started my performance by taking requests from my Irish piano book. The popular pieces I played after the Irish music were pieces such as Clair de Lune and The Entertainer.


I have been playing more ragtime since one of the homes asked that I started playing more uptempo music. I suppose you can only play the first movement of the Moonlight Sonata so much before people will start requesting something a little more upbeat. Personally I am fine with my repertoire, but I am not volunteering anymore so maybe they have a little more control over what I play than I do. It kind of confused me when I got that request though because I had been getting a lot of positive feedback about my performances from the seniors that did attend. However, if this is all I have to worry about when performing, I still have a great job.


I am glad to be welcomed back after COVID-19 knowing I still have many opportunities to play for the senior community.

<---Back to Homepage