(Website meant to be displayed on mobile phones. Text will appear large on desktops.)

-------------------------------
Thursday, July 7th, 2022
-------------------------------
I am still playing at retirement homes these days, however since there have been more COVID-19 outbreaks, some of my performance dates have been canceled. It makes it a little difficult to maintain my performance practice, but if I really wanted to get more performance opportunities I could always play on the street again. I used to have fun doing that, and I met a lot of interesting people busking, but I do not have the most amount of time to take my keyboard downtown and play for the shoppers. I still have the first tip I received from busking which came from a young child (who was given the money by their parents). It was sweet and I thought it would be nice to frame the dollar instead of spending it.


Even though it does not have to do with retirement homes, I am also experiencing some loss with students who are leaving for the summer. It's expected, and I look forward to seeing them again in the Fall.


Regarding my performances at retirement homes, I am still playing my usual repertoire and still have to finish my learning of "Elite Syncopations" by Scott Joplin so I can play it for the residents.

-------------------------------
Thursday, July 14, 2022
-------------------------------
I went to The Grove at Valle Verde yesterday and it was a lot of fun. I felt ready because I prepared beforehand and I did not take a nap earlier, even though I wanted to. Sometimes when I take a nap earlier in the day before a performance I am a little loopy when I play, and that leads to a lot of missed notes. I was well alert yesterday at The Grove which meant I played with a lot of energy, and that kept the seniors awake for the most part.


I ended the performance with "The Entertainer" and after that we had a little question and answer time where the seniors asked me about my piano life. I do not have too many more performances this month due to COVID-19, but I am still going to practice as much as I can so I will be ready when all the retirement homes open again.


-------------------------------
Friday, July 22nd, 2022
-------------------------------
I went to Vista del Monte yesterday to play in their Fernbrook building, but I had mixed feelings about doing so. I was concerned I was not going to be confident enough to play a good performance since I have not had too much time to practice in the last week. While it is true that I have had more time than ever to practice in the last week, I still did not feel prepared enough. I had a lot of butterflies in my stomach prior to the performance but everything went well. I went through my usual repertoire which has turned into four classical pieces for every one ragtime piece to break up the tone of the performance. I would really like to finish "Elite Syncopations" soon so I can perform it and have another piece "under my belt" so to speak. My goal this next week is to practice Elite Syncopations at least a little bit every day so I can get used to the sound. I find when I memorize how a piece of music is supposed to be played it makes memorizing the notes a lot easier.


In the end, my performance at Vista del Monte went well and I had a lot of returning fans in the audience. Those fans like to speak to me after the performance and it is always fun to talk to them about my piano history.


-------------------------------
Wednesday, July 27th, 2022
-------------------------------
This last weekend I went to Mariposa to perform and I had my usual audience waiting for me. I did not do anything different for this performance and everything went well, which I am happy with. I felt slightly unprepared because last time I was at Mariposa I promised to play about six different requests such as songs from the musical "Chicago." I have not really looked any of those up but thinking about it now I will have to soon.

<---Back to Homepage