(Website meant to be displayed on mobile phones. Text will appear large on desktops.)

-------------------------------
Saturday, August 13, 2022
-------------------------------
I had an opportunity to play "Elite Syncopations" today in front of the crowd at Mariposa, but unfortunately I got there on time so I did not have a chance to warm up. I only feel comfortable playing that piece in front of a crowd if I warm up first but I need to arrive at least fifteen minutes before if I want to do that. I still pushed myself a little and played the first page with the music out, which is a little difficult for me. I prefer to have pieces memorized before I perform them because sometimes my eyes can wander if I have to read music in front of a crowd. I was able to perform my ragtime pieces with a lot of energy which is great news for me because that means I have the ability to play different kinds of music that have different tempos to always keep the audience guessing.


-------------------------------
Monday, August 22, 2022
-------------------------------
I went to Mariposa again this past Monday which is unusual because my scheduled days are Saturdays. I will not be available this Saturday though so they were nice enough to give me an opportunity to play earlier in the week. I played a little bit of the third movement of the Moonlight Sonata at the beginning, but the piece is still new and daunting to me so I did not play it for long. My repertoire was the same but I played it with more energy which was evident by all the sweat that was falling from my face. I notice I have been sweating a lot more lately while playing but I am not quite sure why.

<---Back to Homepage