Tuesday, March 12th, 2019
--------------------------------------------

I went to Vista del Monte and Alexander Gardens yesterday to play for the residents. I was eager to play at Vista del Monte because there was a problem with my calendar last month and I missed a performance, leaving me in much embarrassment. I was determined not to let that happen today so I set several alarms to help me.


I went through some Disney songs at Vista del Monte which is fairly new for me since I decided I needed to change my repertoire inbetween learning new pieces. Those Disney songs included ones from Cinderella, Beauty and the Beast, The Little Mermaid, Pinocchio, and The Lion King. Disney songs are a lot of fun to play because I know them from my childhood and they put me in a comfortable head space.


When I went to Alexander Gardens later in the day I decided to slightly change my repertoire by including shortened versions of classics. I have a large book from my teenage piano playing days that has these pieces, so I decided to play about twenty of those  for the residents. They were fun to play and included pieces such as The William Tell Overture, Schubert's Unfinished Symphony, Ode to Joy, and Vivaldi's Spring. In addition to these I also played the Disney music and my usual repertoire. I have been getting much better playing Brahms' Capriccio 2 in front of audiences, which made me happy during this day of retirement home visits.

--------------------------------------------

<---Back to Homepage