(Website meant to be displayed on mobile phones. Text will appear large on desktops.)

--------------------------------------------
Sunday, June 28th, 2020
--------------------------------------------

I played my usual repertoire at Villa Riviera today and the residents seemed happy. At Villa Riviera I always play right after lunch so I think they do not want to move around much then. That seems to be the perfect time for them to listen to some music they enjoy. I played on a Sunday today which is unusual for me, but nothing was any different.

--------------------------------------------
Saturday, June 27th, 2020
--------------------------------------------

I played at Vista del Monte and Mariposa today but by the end of Mariposa's performance I was about to fall over. I started my first performance at Vista del Monte with a lot of enthusiasm however my back was barely able to make it through the second performance. At one point I was playing while leaning against the piano in addition to leaning my hands on the keys half depressed so they would not play. After I was finished I walked to my couch and collapsed which felt really nice even though my back was aching.


In regards to my playing I did a good job during my first performance and I was able to play Rachmaninoff's Prelude 5 without making too many mistakes. The second performance was good as well even with having a two person audience. However, they clapped and enjoyed my playing so there is no reason to think of anything other than that.

--------------------------------------------
Monday, June 15th, 2020
--------------------------------------------

On Saturday I played piano via teleconferencing for Mariposa and Casa Dorinda. Both of the audiences were quaint in size, but they were appreciative of my music. It does not feel too different if I have a large or small audience when I teleconference my performances, which is much different than if I was playing in person. I am happy I get to play on my own piano for these performances since I am used to my own instrument, so that is something nice about teleconferencing performances. My choice of music for these two retirement homes was the same as it usually is, so I am thinking that I need to start playing my Polonaises to make my performances a little more interesting. I will have to see if I get the same challenge performing new pieces online that I do performing them in person.


--------------------------------------------
Thursday, June 4th, 2020
--------------------------------------------


I played for an hour through Zoom today at Summerhouse, Vista del Monte. It felt great to play because my performance jobs have been reduced by half since the pandemic started and I have been craving to play for people. In my opinion I played better than I usually do, but it was really hot in the garage wearing my tuxedo. Thankfully I only have to wear the top half for teleconferencing. I did not play Rachmaninoff's 5th Prelude this performance but I have a feeling I will for the next performance. Once I am able to play the slower section without much hesitation I will be ready.

<---Back to Homepage